The Seven Knightly Sins

Learning about the chivalric virtues by examining their opposites

Often we can achieve a deeper understanding of something by examining its opposite. Our knowledge of the traditional “Seven Virtues,” for instance, is expanded by our awareness of the contrary “Seven Deadly Sins.”

This exploration-by-opposition also works for the Seven Knightly Virtues, and in my seminars on Chivalry Today, I often ask for volunteers to suggest the opposites of these chivalrous qualities. Apart from the usual antonyms, I’ve gotten some unexpected responses which highlight the complexity of the Code of Chivalry. Perhaps the following list could be considered the Seven Lesser-Known Knightly Sins:

Although the opposite of courage is often thought to be “cowardice” or “weakness,” a better choice is “bravado.” Interestingly, courage and bravado sometimes appear identical, but even the most courageous knight in shining armor knows that conflict is used only as a last resort. A bully, on the other hand, uses blusterous bravado to camouflage aggressive displays of egotism as bravery.

The obvious opposite of justice is “injustice,” but another contrary to this virtue is “opportunism.” While injustice is simply the lack of just deserts, an opportunist is one who pursues justice only when it’s in his or her best interest – which usually means only when it applies to someone else.

While “greed” is frequently seen as the opposite of generosity, another is “frivolousness.” Giving time, energy and money in a generous manner means choosing things that will be beneficial to others, not just squandering resources on needless gifts and wasteful endeavors.

“Cruelty” can certainly be the opposite of mercy, but so can “irresponsibility.” The soothing, healing quality of mercy can only be demonstrated by someone who is willing to take responsibility for the harm that careless actions and degrading words can cause others.

The opposite of faith is “falseness,” but the root of that vice can truly found in “selfishness.” Most lies are told out of self-interest, not out of sheer treachery. In order to be faithful, a knight in shining armor must recognize the harm which a broken promise can cause, and must be willing to make difficult personal sacrifices to honor his or her commitments.

While the true contrary of nobility is “baseness,” (a rather archaic term which conveys a mix of petty, ignorant attitudes) a more contemporary opposite is “vulgarity.” Even someone who has chivalrous motives can hardly be called a knight in shining armor if their language and actions are rude and offensive. A noble attitude demonstrates respect for others through courtesy and graciousness in all situations.

Finally, the opposite of hope is not “despair,” but rather “hate.” Despair can be overcome, but hate is the deliberate and calculated assumption that a person, or a group of people are completely and utterly beyond redemption.

Recognizing the opposites of the Seven Knightly Virtues not only helps us avoid unsavory attitudes and behaviors, but also brings a more thorough understanding of the Code of Chivalry. Which proves that (in keeping with the positive attitude of a knight in shining armor) even the Seven Knightly Sins have a purpose in the world.

4 thoughts on “The Seven Knightly Sins

  1. Somehow Arrogance seems to have been missed from the list. This is a very destructive charistic, but I suppose a list this size can’t possably be exaustive.

  2. Hi Scott!

    This is a great article and really got me thinking. Long ago, when my chivalric deeds were on public display of a far-grander scale, I formulated a code of ethics that I sought to live by. They were derived from many sources, and then distilled into something I felt exemplified what I WANTED to be; to live my life as.

    As part of my personal heraldry, I adopted the pictogram of 3 interlocking annulets, which were actually Ouroboros, representing the endlessness of each of 3 primary ideals, Truth, Love, and Courage.

    The intersections of these ideals led to off-shoots such as Justice, Compassion, and Honor, and it was by these ideals that I sought to forge my life.

    It proved to be quite difficult, and at my best I do not think I managed to be half as good as I desired, but I think the point of it all was to stay conscious. For in these modern times, it is remarkably easy to lose sight of simple things such as manners, empathy, and generosity, but, at least for me, codifying a code of ethics into a simple image was extraordinarily powerful. So much so that my production company bears the same mark, now representing Sights, Sounds, and Stories, but Truth, Love, and Courage are always underpinning.

    Thanks for a wonderful article, a walk down Memory Lane, and much needed reminder to stay ever-vigilant of my own actions and choices.

  3. Amazing!

    2 years ago I had a nearly identical revelation. I came to the realization that Truth, Love, and Courage were the essential elements of a well lived life.

    I am inspired to see that others have come to exactly the same conclusion. I am also inspired by the thought that their intersecting virtues, Justice, Compassion, and Courage are products of the original three values combined!

    Thank you for your thoughts.

    I am always seeking literature that elaborates on the relationships on which we appear to agree. Are there any decent sources?

    Godd Day to you!

  4. Dear Sir,

    Perhaps your assumption that arrogance is missing is a problematic one.

    I would assert that arrogance is a baseless pride that lacks a proper footing in honesty. Arrogance is an aberration that occurs when excessive pride is mounted on too weak a pedestal and is therefore underserved.

    Could that be why ‘arrogance” was left outside the above list?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.